When Anxieties Threaten…


It’s a great day for fishing.  The sky is slightly overcast, the air is cool with barely a breeze, and I’m ready to throw my line in the water hoping for the fish to bite.  Watching my bobber bounce playfully on the ripples,  I look deep into the water willing my mind to see beyond the depths of the shadows.  I see nothing but darkness.  Whatever lies beneath is hidden forever.

I cast my line once again as far as my arm will throw. The breeze is barely rustling the leaves.  Silence surrounds me.  All is peaceful…except for the scolding of the blackbirds and incessant chattering of the red squirrel, admonishing my presence trespassing their domain.  My mind drifts with the bobber as I close my eyes in reflection on a beautiful fall day.

When I cast my line, I fling it hard, hoping for the furthest distance I can reach into the deep water.  Jesus also told his disciples to cast into the deep — not their nets, but their cares (their anxieties, their worries and distresses).  He said to cast them on Him, because He cared for them. (I Peter 5:7) The disciples were fishermen.  They understood the term of ‘casting’. They understood the method of tossing or throwing their nets.  Now their Leader and Friend was telling them they could do the same with the cares of life.

“Throw your cares and worries on Me,” He says, “and I will take care of it.” And what then, does He do with our worries and cares, our anxieties?  Does he keep them to remind us of past failures or shortcomings?  No.  Only His enemy does that.  God takes our anxieties and casts them out as well.  When God throws His cast, it is powerful. It reaches far beyond what the eye can see. The prophet Micah says God casts our sins into the depths of the sea (Micah 7:19).  We can rest in peace, for our sins, our cares, our worries – whatever it may be – are buried in the deepest sea. God is faithful and compassionate.  He asks that we don’t fish in that spot ever again. Those anxieties won’t trouble us if we leave them buried.

Enjoying the warmth of the sun on my face, my gaze wanders lazily over the murky water. This time I see my reflection staring back at me.  Surrounding me are the images of gorgeous autumn leaves, the cedars,  and the mirrored blue of the sky dotted with white clouds.  Funny, I think, I don’t notice the murkiness anymore. The dark waters have become a sea of glass sparkling with wonder, shimmering back the sun’s light through the trees like a mirror ball.  The past is buried. All is at peace.  All is at rest.

…and the fish are biting.

“Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you” (Psalm 55:22)

About C.A. Simonson

C.A. (Candy) Simonson writes fiction and nonfiction short stories, articles and books. She has over 400 publications in national magazines, newspapers, and other tabloids. Her award-winning short stories have appeared in seven anthologies. The Journey Home trilogy, "Love's Journey Home," "Love Looks Back," and "Love's Amazing Grace," are Christian family drama/adventure/romance/mystery, based on true events. She has also put together an anthology of 56 short stories written in 26 sentences from A-Z in "A Quick Read." A children's speller/story coloring book was released in April 2017 featuring artwork and stories. A devotional with over 100 inspirational stories and poems is scheduled to be released in June 2017. Copies are available in paperback and digital format on Amazon, KOBO, iTunes, and Barnes and Noble. When she is not writing, she is painting, crafting, or fishing.
This entry was posted in Devotion, Inspiration, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

