How Much Do I Trust?


fruit of laborA year ago around this time I was devastated. Driving home in a daze, I reflected on what just happened. Without warning, I had been told I could pack up my things and leave work. Just like that.Budget cuts and right-sizing had eliminated my job. I wasn’t sure what to think – what to do; our family medical insurance and major income came from my work.

bassBut, as I look back over this past year, I can’t help but be amazed and feel blessed. Not even a month had passed when my husband was offered a full-time job – exactly what he’d hoped for—one that highlighted his skills, wisdom, and knowledge. I had scheduled yearly physical, dentist, and eye appointments in January – so all of those were out of the way. We were able to stock up on a quarter beef and half a hog in January—which provided meat in the freezer for a good part of the year. All those expenditures were taken care of.

While many gardens didn’t do so well last summer, ours boomed. We had fruit and vegetables galore with jars of jam, jelly, and spaghetti sauce canned.

My husband shot a grand buck and a turkey in our back woods – so now we had venison and turkey to add to our meat choices, plus fish from the pond.

During my hiatus, I was able to finish writing two novels, completing the Journey Home trilogy, and edit three other books for friends and help publish all of them.

THREE BOOKS Wonderful family time was spent with relatives from California to South Dakota and Ohio. I was able to enjoy
my “time off” with my favorite hobbies: spray-paint art and quilting. And God blessed those endeavors too by some amazing sales, and my art hung in the Gillioz in Springfield and in Museum Contempo in Olympia, WA.

the coveSee more spray paint art

But that’s not even the best part. I went back to work in a temporary setting in August, and from that job came the most wonderful position yet: a job where I can teach and train other employees in technology.

God is good, and His mercies everlasting. God knew all along where I would be, and knew more what I needed than what I thought I wanted.

He has our lives in His hands every day… if we only choose to trust.

About C.A. Simonson

C.A. (Candy) Simonson writes fiction and nonfiction short stories, articles and books. She has over 400 publications in national magazines, newspapers, and other tabloids. Her award-winning short stories have appeared in seven anthologies. The Journey Home trilogy, "Love's Journey Home," "Love Looks Back," and "Love's Amazing Grace," are Christian family drama/adventure/romance/mystery, based on true events. She has also put together an anthology of 56 short stories written in 26 sentences from A-Z in "A Quick Read." A children's speller/story coloring book was released in April 2017 featuring artwork and stories. A devotional with over 100 inspirational stories and poems is scheduled to be released in June 2017. Copies are available in paperback and digital format on Amazon, KOBO, iTunes, and Barnes and Noble. When she is not writing, she is painting, crafting, or fishing.
Aside | This entry was posted in Inspiration, Meditation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How Much Do I Trust?

  1. Awesome post, Candy! It took a long time for me to realize God brings good out of things we consider bad, if we just let him. There have been several times in my life He had to force things along because I was dragging my feet. He really does look after us with a tender and compassionate heart. Makes me feel warm and tingly to remember that.

    Like

  2. Thank you Ailie. I love to look for the “God kisses” that He sends – sometimes so small they are easy to miss. But, when I look for them, they’re always there telling me how much He really loves and cares. Blessings on you.

    Like

  3. bj clausen says:

    Well said I tell everyone that you finally have the job you always wanted

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

